Sokkia GRX3 Lite GNSS Receiver
W-9 and vendor pack with every quote
Shipped direct from the manufacturer
This is the standard Sokkia GRX3 receiver, licensed to GPS and GLONASS tracking only, with no tilt compensation and a one-mile RTK range ceiling. Every one of those limits is a software license on identical hardware, and Sokkia sells each option as a separate purchase.
01
Sokkia never publishes the name "GRX3 Lite"; it licenses one GRX3 down to fewer options
Search Sokkia's own site, brochures, spec sheets and operator's manual for "GRX3 Lite" and you find nothing. Even Sokkia's own site search returns zero results for the phrase. What you are buying is a standard Sokkia GRX3 receiver, licensed down to GPS and GLONASS tracking only, with no tilt compensation and a one-mile RTK range ceiling. Sokkia's operator's manual documents the mechanism behind that: an Option Authorization File, a license the receiver checks to enable whichever options were purchased. It is typically set at the initial kit purchase. At least one other independent GNSS dealer uses the same "Lite" name for the same reduced configuration, which is why we use it too. It names a license, not a separate Sokkia product line. Nothing about the electronics, enclosure or battery changes between this configuration and a fully licensed GRX3. Need Galileo, BeiDou or tilt compensation? Call before you order rather than assume this unit can never do it.
02
Active constellations here are GPS and GLONASS, on a receiver rated for five more
Sokkia's brochure rates the fully licensed GRX3 platform at 226 tracking channels across GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou, IRNSS, QZSS and SBAS. That figure is the receiver's licensable ceiling, not what tracks here. This configuration is active on GPS and GLONASS L1 and L2 only. Galileo, BeiDou, IRNSS, QZSS, SBAS, and the GPS L5 and GLONASS L3 signals, sit behind separate license upgrades on identical hardware. Independent dealer evidence describes these constellation limits as licensed rather than physical, though Sokkia has not published an authorization file number tied to the "Lite" name itself. Working somewhere GPS and GLONASS alone will not cover you? Ask about the constellation upgrade first.
03
RTK accuracy has no published figure for this license, and range is capped at one mile
Sokkia publishes one RTK accuracy figure for the GRX3 platform, and it is not conditioned on which constellations are licensed active. That number is left off this page for this configuration. No Sokkia source says whether it holds, loosens, or stops applying under a GPS and GLONASS only license. Rated RTK and network RTK range on this configuration is one mile. Independent dealers document that as a licensed ceiling rather than a hardware limit, and Sokkia publishes no range figure for it directly. Removing the ceiling, like adding Galileo or BeiDou, is a separate paid license on the same receiver. Need a stated accuracy figure before you commit? Call and we will find out what Sokkia will confirm.
04
Tilt compensation is not included, and it is a separate paid license on identical hardware
This configuration ships without tilt compensation. Sokkia sells the tilt upgrade as a separate license, using the same leveling technology built into every GRX3 receiver, licensed or not. Its brochure states the fully licensed platform's tilt-compensated positioning tolerates up to 15 degrees of pole tilt once that upgrade is active. That figure describes the upgraded state, not this unit as it ships. Rely on tilt compensation to work without a perfectly level pole? Add the upgrade, or choose a fully licensed GRX3 instead.
05
Internal UHF and SiteCom radios are built in, and which cellular hardware ships is unconfirmed
This receiver carries integrated 400 MHz UHF and SiteCom transmit and receive radios. Sokkia's brochure documents the platform's UHF band as 425 to 470 MHz. It names the internal radio module "R2 Lite," a Sokkia part name that happens to share a word with this configuration's own name; the two are unrelated. Sokkia's manual lists five radio and cellular hardware builds for the GRX3 line, running from no radio and no cellular module up to a UHF radio with an integrated 4G/LTE modem. It does not state which build ships under this configuration. Network corrections reach it through the field controller's modem, not an onboard cellular connection. It is fully compatible with Topnet Live network RTK and global PPP corrections.
06
Two internal batteries run about 10 hours, in an enclosure rated IP67
The receiver carries two internal 3.6 V lithium-ion battery packs, 13.2 Ah and 50.2 Wh combined, per Sokkia's manual for the shared GRX3 enclosure. In receive-only UHF rover mode, on a new, fully charged battery at room temperature, Sokkia rates operating time at about 10 hours. With no radio or cellular modem fitted, that stretches to about 15 hours. The enclosure measures 150 by 100 by 150 millimeters, weighs under 1.15 kilograms, and is rated IP67 for dust and water ingress, per Sokkia's brochure. Sokkia's manual gives conditioned operating temperature figures: -20C to +50C on battery power, and 0C to +40C while charging on external power. It also rates -40C to +65C to MIL-STD-810G, tighter than the brochure's simplified -40C to +70C. It survives a 2-meter pole drop onto concrete, and a 1-meter handle drop.
07 FOR UNIVERSITIES, COLLEGES AND GOVERNMENT AGENCIES
MAGNET software runs the workflow, and no packing list or warranty term is confirmed for this SKU
Current Sokkia field software is MAGNET Field for data collection and stakeout, and MAGNET Office for post-processing. A field controller is not included: Sokkia's manual lists it under GRX3 accessories, sold separately, and no source states one ships with this configuration. No source publishes a packing list for this exact SKU either. Sokkia's manual gives a general standard kit table for the GRX3 platform instead: receiver, power adapter, power and charger cables, a Micro USB cable, serial cable, printed quick reference card, warranty card, and a radio antenna. A cellular antenna ships on cellular variants only, and kit contents differ by country and region. Warranty duration is not published anywhere we checked; Sokkia's manual states only that cover runs for the period on the card in the box. My Surveying Direct is a Sokkia dealer. We accept purchase orders from universities, colleges and government agencies, with a W-9 and vendor pack on every quote, and every receiver ships direct from the manufacturer. Call +1 888 850 6533. We will confirm what ships in your box, the warranty Sokkia applies, and whether this or a fully licensed GRX3 is right for your survey.
Checkout above. Financing available with Affirm.
Institutions only: universities, colleges and government agencies.
Attached automatically.
Send the certificate once, we hold it on file.
On request, for committee approval.
One person, from quote to delivery.
REFERENCE
Specifications
GNSS constellations and signals
| Constellations tracked | GPS and GLONASS only, L1 and L2 frequencies. Galileo, BeiDou, IRNSS, QZSS and SBAS, which the standard GRX3's own marketing describes, are not active on this configuration |
| Upgrade path | Independent dealer evidence describes constellation and RTK-range limits on this configuration as licensed, not physical; Sokkia's own Option Authorization File system (confirmed in the manual) is how the standard GRX3 licenses the same distinctions, though Sokkia has not published an OAF part number tied to the 'Lite' name specifically |
| Hardware ceiling of the GRX3 platform, for contrast | Sokkia's own brochure states the physical receiver supports 226 Universal Tracking Channels across GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou/BDS, IRNSS, QZSS and SBAS when fully licensed; this is the receiver's licensable ceiling, not a claim about what is active on this configuration |
RTK and positioning
| RTK accuracy and initialization on this configuration | Not confirmed. Sokkia has not published an RTK accuracy or initialization-time figure specific to a GPS+GLONASS-only Option Authorization File. Its brochure states one RTK accuracy figure for the GRX3 platform generally without conditioning it on which constellations are licensed active, so it is not printed here as a confirmed figure for this SKU |
| Tilt compensation | Not included. Tilt is a separate, paid Option Authorization File upgrade on the same GRX3 hardware, confirmed by an independent dealer's own OAF listing ('OAF-U, GRX3 Add TILT,' using Sokkia's Topcon Integrated Leveling Technology). Sokkia's own brochure states the full platform's tilt-compensated positioning tolerates up to 15 degrees of mis-leveling when the upgrade is active; that figure describes the upgraded state, not this configuration |
| Licensed range ceiling on this configuration | 1 mile, documented by two independent dealers as a licensed ceiling on this configuration rather than a hardware limit. Sokkia publishes no range figure for it, and removing the ceiling is a separate paid Option Authorization File on the same receiver |
Radio and network corrections
| Internal radios | Integrated 400 MHz UHF and SiteCom transmit/receive radios. Sokkia's brochure states the platform's UHF band as 425-470 MHz. Sokkia's manual documents the internal radio module by name as 'R2 Lite,' a radio/modem board naming that is a coincidental collision with the 'GRX3 Lite' product name, not the same thing (an R2 Lite radio can be fitted to a fully licensed, all-constellation, tilt-enabled GRX3 too). The manual's own dedicated R2 Lite spec table (9-2) and regulatory-compliance section instead state a 406-470 MHz operating range for the same radio module; the two Sokkia documents disagree by 19 MHz at the low end |
| Cellular / network connectivity | Network corrections reach this receiver through a modem in the field controller, not an onboard cellular connection. Sokkia's manual documents that GRX3 receivers ship in one of five radio/cellular hardware configurations, from no radio and no cellular module up to an R2 Lite UHF radio with an integrated 4G/LTE cellular module; this configuration's exact radio/cellular build is not stated by Sokkia, but a controller-routed correction path is consistent with a no-integrated-cellular build from that documented list |
| Network RTK and PPP corrections | Fully compatible with Topnet Live correction services: regional network RTK, plus global PPP corrections through Topnet Live Skybridge and Starpoint |
Battery
| Battery hardware | Two internal Lithium-ion battery packs, 3.6 V each, 13.2 Ah / 50.2 Wh total capacity, per Sokkia's operator manual for the GRX3 platform. This is a physical property of the shared receiver enclosure, not licensed by OAF |
| Operating time, receive-only UHF mode | About 10 hours, using a new, fully charged battery at room temperature. Sokkia's manual conditions this figure on which radio/cellular hardware build is fitted; not confirmed which build ships under the 'Lite' name |
| Operating time, UHF base transmitting | About 8 hours at 0.5 W transmit power, about 6 hours at 1 W transmit power, per Sokkia's manual. An independent dealer describes this configuration as a rover-range receiver rather than a transmitting base |
| Operating time, no radio/cellular modem fitted | About 15 hours with the modem off, per Sokkia's manual, the longest of the documented scenarios |
Mechanical and environmental
| Dimensions | 150 x 100 x 150 mm (w x h x d), per Sokkia's brochure for the shared GRX3 enclosure |
| Weight | Under 1.15 kg, per Sokkia's brochure |
| Ingress protection | IP67, dust and water ingress protected, per Sokkia's brochure and manual |
| Operating temperature | Sokkia's manual gives conditioned figures: -20C to +50C on battery power without charging, 0C to +40C on external power while charging, and -40C to +65C per MIL-STD-810G. Sokkia's brochure separately states a single simplified range of -40C to +70C for the platform |
| Drop rating | Survives a 2-meter pole drop onto concrete and a 1-meter handle drop, per Sokkia's manual |
| Internal memory | 8 GB internal, non-removable, per Sokkia's brochure |
| Ports | Micro USB and serial ports |
Field software and data collector
| Field software | Sokkia's current field software is MAGNET Field (data collection, stakeout) and MAGNET Office (post-processing), per Sokkia's current brochure and operator manual. An older, 2019-dated Sokkia brochure for the same receiver instead names this software suite GeoPro Field/Office; MAGNET is the current branding, GeoPro is superseded, not a different product |
| Data collector / field controller | Not included. Sokkia's manual lists a 'Hand-Held Controller and Brackets' under GRX3 Accessories, not under Standard Kit Components, meaning it is sold separately from the receiver. The independent dealer selling a 'GRX3 Lite' does not state that a controller is included either |
| Configuration and firmware utility | Sokkia Receiver Utility (SRU), a free program for configuring and updating the receiver and peripheral devices, downloadable from Sokkia Care, per the manual |
Ordering
| Dealer status | Authorized reseller |
| Purchase orders | Accepted; W-9 and vendor pack provided with every quote |
| Shipping | Shipped direct from the manufacturer |
| Speak to us | +1 888 850 6533 |